12 Years Of Experience And Knowledge In

Education & Migration Field







Need Consultation?

(03) 9077 0507


General Skilled Migration

Home > Immigration > Migration > General Skilled Migration (GSM)


General Skilled Migration (GSM) Visas

Bajwa Immigration Consultants dedicated team helps their client to take their strides towards settling in Australia on the permanent basis through the easiest way of Permanent Residency through General Skilled Migration (GSM) visa program which is point-based migration for skill workers who have skills in specific occupations, which are in demand in Australia.
Applicant must have an occupation listed on Medium and Long-term Strategic Skills List (MLTSSL) or the Short-term Skilled Occupation List (STSOL) and needs to satisfy the point test as part of visa application requirements. Skilled workers who get visa under GSM, can work and stay in Australia on a permanent basis. In some circumstances, skilled workers can stay and work in Australia on temporary basis until the requirements for permanent residency are met.
General Skilled Migration (GSM) visas program includes the following visa Subclasses:

This visa subclass is for those skilled workers who are not sponsored by an employer or family member or nominated by a state or territory government and meet the requirements for the grant of visa independently. This subclass allows skilled worker and their eligible family members to live and work in Australia on permanent basis. The applicant needs to meet the following requirements in order to be eligible for the grant of visa: -

  1. The applicant needs to have a relevant occupation and the relevant skills assessment in their chosen occupation.

  2. The applicant must have required points according to the chosen occupation in order to pass the point test.

  3. The applicant has to be under the age of 45 years at the time of invitation to apply the visa.

  4. The applicant must have at least competent English

  5. The applicant must meet health and character requirements
This visa subclass is for New Zealand citizens who are holders of Special Category (subclass 444) visa who have shown a commitment and contribution to Australia to apply for permanent residence. The Eligibility Criteria for this stream differs from the criteria of Subclass 189 (Points – Test):
  • The applicant must be a holder of Special Category (subclass 444) visa and must have been residing in Australia continuously for five years on or before 19 February 2016

  • The applicant must have a taxable income at or above an income threshold for each of the four completed income years prior to lodging an application (unless claiming an exemption)
  • The Skilled Nominated (Subclass 190) visa is a permanent residency skilled migration visa for people with an occupation in high demand in Australia's labour market and allows them to work and live in Australia on permanent basis. For this subclass applicant must be nominated or sponsored by an Australian state or territory government.

    The eligibility criteria for this subclass is as that of Subclass 189 and should have been nominated by a state or territory government.
    The Skilled Regional (489) visa is a provisional skilled migration visa that can provide a pathway towards permanent residency. Prior to applying for this visa you must be nominated by a regional body of state or territory government, or sponsored by an eligible relative living in designated area of Australia. This visa subclass allows skilled worker and their eligible family members to live and work in regional or low-population growth metropolitan areas of Australia for up to four years.
    This visa subclass requires the same eligibility criteria after the applicant is being nominated by the regional body of a state or territory government.
    This is a permanent visa for people who have lived and worked in specified areas of Australia after being granted a visa of Subclass 489, 495, 496, 475 or 487.

    This visa subclass has the following requirements: -
  • Currently hold a visa under subclass 489, 495, 496, 475 or 487.
  • The applicant must have lived in a specified regional area of Australia for at least two years and have worked full time in a specified regional area for at least one year.

  • To know your eligibility of point test and under which subclass you can apply your visa for, you can always connect to the expert service of Bajwa Immigration Consultants by a simple click



    Previous Next


    Book Consultation Now